Beauty in the struggle

All of June was trash so I’ve been feeling really unmotivated to write once again but today my cousin gave me the best motivation. We were talking about life experiences and childhood per usual. She told me that I always reminded her of a flower. A Mexican sunflower to be exact. The stem grows slow, but when it blossoms it happens quickly. She said this flower represented me overcoming fear, shyness and blossoming into a beautiful young woman fearless, brave and ready to take on the world. It’s so amazing to me how when I feel like Im failing at life she still sees all the good in my journey. I honestly still can’t believe I have the audacity to share my personal business through blogs but I love being able to see my growth. The two song lyrics that came to mind when deciding to write this blog were

 

1. “There’s beauty in the struggle, ugliness in the success” -J.cole
2. “From the concrete who knew that a flower would grow” -Drake

 

J.cole and Drake had two verses that seem relevant to my life. In June I felt like I hit rock bottom as far as actually being in a struggle & I kept saying wow it seems like this will be never be over. Just bad shit after bad shit. I stayed as positive as possible but experienced alot of anxiety and tears. For the first time in a long time I felt like stress took over my whole body. In the midst of a terrible month I had so many people tell me that tough times don’t last. That things would get better and etc.

I went on vacation to New Orleans at the end of the month for the essence festival. It was just the get away I needed. Even though all my life problems weren’t gone after the weekend. I came back with a peace of mind to keep working hard because I know from the concrete a flower can grow. I am living proof.

I am a sunflower more radiant than ever. Growing each day. Blooming with the seasons. Moving with the wind. I’m still trying to get the hang of this adult life and I’m trying to be gentle with myself.

As always thanks for reading please share, like and subscribe 💋

Leave a Reply

